I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts!

 

dee di dee di! photo (2) I’ve never cracked open a coconut before tonight and I have to say, it was a lot easier than I expected! I picked up this young coconut on a whim because, well, I love coconut water. A couple of taps with a hammer on a knife and i had a hole big enough for a bendy straw! When it came to opening it up and scooping out the puddingy goodness inside? Super easy!! I just took that knife of mine and twisted it in the straw hole until i could get it lateral and then just sawed a circle around it. Easy peasy!  and the result? Fresh coconut puddin! photo(1)Just took a spoon to it and enjoyed!

So all in all I’d say this weekend has been pretty delicious and simple. No hours in the kitchen with prep or complicated recipes. My days have been a lot of nibbles and just fresh fruit and veggies here and there with the sauces I purchased at Whole Foods and my mustard dressing I whip up quite quickly. So far, so easy. But it has gotten more expensive, I blame this in part on prep’ed foods and start up cost. To be frank, the fruits and veg haven’t been that bad in terms of cost. In fact, the juice week was downright cheap compared to my normal costs. Solution? More juicing!

I still don’t like kale. But when I juice it, it’s awesome. Kale chips aren’t bad either BUT so many of them are crumbly in the bag that the cost is a little…much. So I don’t think I’ll be getting them again. The crumbles I’m thinking I’ll use as a topping.

Suddenly I miss sour cream. Madness.

Little ADHD tonight apparently! Anyway, as I was saying, I still don’t like kale, or chard for that matter. But they’re both great in juices so I need to make a better effort with those. When it comes to spinach and parsley, however, I’m a huge fan. I’m still working on diversifying my fruit and veg tastes. But I think I’m at the point where I will find incorporating salads into my daily routine will be pleasant and easy for me…without drenching it in ranch.

It’s a good thing!

Leave a Reply

