Juicy Details- THE FINAL COUNTDOWN!

And finally it is day seven!!

Today has been my last day on the juice and it’s actually been the easiest yet.  I tried this morning to use a protein powder buuuuuut that wasn’t great. I’m going to tell you why: the grit. Ok, so these things don’t dissolve like whey or other protein mixes. You get serious grit but the taste is fine. I powered through it just fine though.

After was all about the chia kombucha and a mean green dinner! I’m not going to lie, I went to Whole Foods today after work to get tomorrow’s lunch because tomorrow is going to be naaaaaaasty and I’m not going to be able to walk to the cafe near my work. Well! The guy there was super helpful but I had to sample some things. YEAH HE MADE ME. Ok so he didn’t twist my arm but I wanted to know what I was buying so /technically/ I chewed.

I sampled a raw chickpea salad, which was good but super rich and settled on some raw falafal and tahini and of course some delicious raw beets and carrots and then some chunked jicama because i freaking love jicama.

I also picked up a couple things I realized I forgot including some raw kelp noodles (yeah those are a thing) and raw honey and went ahead and got myself that vanilla coconut tart.

I gotta tell you, raw desserts are ridiculously easy. Like if I’m not careful I’m going to gain a boatload of weight.

I’m excited to get those kelp noodles because I can’t wait to try out some of the raw alfredo sauce (which I can get at whole foods but I’m going to try and make here) and mac and cheeeeeeeeeeeeese

It’s winter and man do I love me some of those blue box blueeeeeeeeeeesssss kraft macaroni and cheeeeeese

I also found a great vegan recipe for when I go clean because while cheese is great and all, nuts are more nutritious.

Pinterest. It’s awesome.

Now for reflection on the fast:

I dropped almost 7lbs. 7lbs of what I’m sure is partially water weight and partially just not having anything in my system. I’ll be interested to see how much I gain from eating even though my calorie intake might remain the same.

I’ve not been nearly as hungry as I thought I’d be. I contribute this to one simple fact: I resigned myself to being hungry. I said yeah, I’m going to have stomach noises and I’m going to be wanting foods but you know what? I’m getting better nutrition from the juice than I was from ramen.

Normally when I’m hungry I’m a nightmare. Anyone want to dispute that? No? *crickets* Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?

Yeah, if you’ve ever seen me hungry you know that I get grumpy, fussy, whiny, angry, stabby, etc.

I’ve not had that problem this week. I’ve not been snippy or bad tempered or anything. I’ve had some blues but nothing like what I’ve had when I was hungry before. That’s a good thing 🙂

Would I do it again? Yeah, yeah and I intend to. Before the final weigh in at work I’ll do another week, yeah I want that trip! But I also feel like I’ve had great energy the past few days 🙂

I’ll probably do day fasts here and there too, just because I have made some really delicious juices and I want to keep having them as meals.

So where do we go from here?

Well tomorrow begins the first day raw of solid foods.

I’m going to try my chocolate chia pudding in the morning and for lunch I’ve got my falafal, beets and carrots and jicama and for dinner? SASHIMI!

I’m excited!

We’ll see how long I last, I’m def going to do until Feb 5th raw but after that, we’ll see. No matter what my habits are going to be different now. Clean eating and perhaps even more vegan recipes.

Final Note!

Remember I mentioned my friend Misha going clean? She has her blog up and running and you can find it here: ResistINS

The first few entries are up and they’re quite moving. Good luck, Mishi!! Love you!

my pretty sister from another mister!

my pretty sister from another mister!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gogreenstaylean
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 22:11:58

    Good job on your juice fast! Are you planning on doing them periodically? Or are you just going to stick to clean eating?

    Reply

    • Ali
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 22:14:23

      I’m hoping to do them periodically, but likely shorter ones since I won’t need to break cravings and clear out as much badness

      Reply

  2. misha
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 01:31:14

    I love you!!!!!! I Just figured out how to allow comments on my blog, ugh.
    I can’t wait to go eats all the raw with you!

    And yes, you ARE a nightmare when hungry – but a cute one. AND THAT MAKES IT OK.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

