Juciy Details– Day Six

7:30 am and I was up bright eyed and bushy tailed. So much so that I totally forgot to weigh myself before grabbing my shopping bags and heading to the Whole Foods mothership down on 5th in Austin.

If you’ve never been to this mecca of natural grocers then you can’t really fathom just how big and amazing it is. Truly. This is a place with four restaurants and a bar inside, not to mention the juice and gelato bar. Each of their departments is the size of a small local grocery store and parking? 90% of it is under the store in a garage. I never even bother to look for parking on the surface lot but today I got there right as they opened and wouldn’t you know it? There was a spot in daylight! This is particularly nice since I don’t like escalators lol

But going here was hard, Whole Foods is an amazing place but they’re not just super healthy stuff. They’re all about WHOLE FOOD. That means breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinner and dessert and no one, NO ONE does dessert like Whole Foods. The largest section of the store very well could be devoted to the Candy Island and the bakery department. Everything you could want is there and it was so very hard to avoid it totally.

snackums

get in mah belleh!

However, the Living Food section and restaurant looks promising! I stocked up on a lot of essentials and replenished my veggies and even found a local raw brie that I cant wait til Wednesday to sample! I also found some flax crackers and macadamia nut spread in case my homemade hummus doesn’t turn out. I’m very excited about the Go Raw Super cookies and Flax Snax I found. I picked up the pizza ones first and then I saw original cookies and was like meh let’s try them both. BUT THEN I saw Chai cookies and was like WHUU I MUST EAT YOU

and then…OH SNAP! Ginger snaps!!

I freaking love ginger snaps. 😐 Like…I’ll fight you for the last one.

So that’s how I ended up with four bags of snackums in my cart. I opened the pizza one to smell today and am really wondering why I don’t go around all day with one under my nose. It smells like pizza and that’s no lie. Will it taste like it? Well texture wise no, but if that scent is anything to go by it will have nailed the zesty sauce flavor, which is the most any nonpizza food can be asked to do.

I then stopped over at their juice bar and discovered two things:

1) wheat grass and me REALLY don’t get along. Rarely if ever can I take a shot of it and not end up curled up in a little nauseous ball, like I did today

2) the juice concoctions at my nearby Whole Foods are much tastier. Today I got the skin rejuvenator and it was…not rejuvenation.

So when I got home I whipped up a little something of my own and then opened my kombucha.

All in all I spent $160 there.

Sticker shock! But I remind myself that a good portion of that are bulk things like chickpeas, tahini, almonds, almond milk, spinach and the dozen cucumbers or so I bought. So overall, considering it was all organic and the packaged things were purposed as raw I think I did ok. Next shopping trip should be less.

And I remind myself of my rules: I WILL NOT LET FRUGALITY RUIN MY HEALTH.

I must also remind myself that I have a box from Greenling coming Wednesday with all the splendid goodness that didn’t cost me but 15$ because I got a $50 gift card 😀 So really I’ve spend 175$ for225$ of food. HA! and a lot of it will last, like I said: start up cost is high but maintenance should be ok.

So, how am I feeling today?

Well, not great, to be honest. I don’t know if it’s the wheat grass or the fact that I’m PMSing (ugh could I have timed this thing worse?) or both but I’m feeling pretty crappy. I’m grumpy. I’m annoyed. I’m sleepy and searching the paper for coupons has made me realize how much of my diet before was convenience food. There are coupons for EVERYTHING this week, snacks, ‘health food’ like special K bars, soups, Lean Cuisines, and all that rubbish Weight Watchers touts with their point system.

All of that stuff…I used to eat it all. I’d go to HEB and hand them all my coupons and ‘save’ 30 bucks. But at what cost, I wonder. It was cheap, fast, easy…but was it killing me? It’s hard to say yet. These last two days have had a bit of a depressed mood to them and it’s not even hunger or cravings. I’d like to chalk this all up to hormones but I’m constantly questioning myself.

I can’t let myself get discouraged, I can’t be too hard on myself. I should just relax today, do some yoga, do some laundry (fresh warm blankets and clothes always make me happy) and admire the raw tart I bought for myself that I’m going to tear into Wednesday! It’s meyer lemon. I thought about getting one of the chocolate ones  but I have Rox Chox for that 😀 Maybe next time I’ll get the vanilla coconut one but we’ll see.

Update–

I’m feeling a little better after finishing my green chia kombucha and talking to my memo on the phone (she broke her hip two weeks ago but is doing swimmingly in rehab!). I’ll have some nanogreens here in a bit. Also I’ve prepped for some chocolate chia pudding!

Here’s what I did:

1 oz Cacao Nibs

2 tablespoons chia seeds

1 cup vanilla almond milk

a dash of coconut flakes, unsweetened and raw of course

step one: combine nibs and coconut flakes in your food processor or blender  (i have a little ninja and that worked perfectly) and pulse until they’re sufficiently powdered. This happens really pretty quickly

step two: add almond milk, process a little more

step three: in a container of your choice pour the mixed almond milk and add chia seeds. Cover it and give it a good shake to make sure all the chia seeds are mixed in.

Step four: refrigerate overnight.

…So i got to step four. I’ll let you know how it turns out in the morning but by my calculations (using loseit.com) this hearty pudding will be about 330 calories.

Sounds like a good breakfast to break my fast on wednesday morning! of couuuuuuuuuurse I’m going to sample it tomorrow morning and since it’s a liquid and I’ve been encouraging myself to eat chia I won’t feel guilty about it.

Why’d I make it so far in advanced? I needed to smell chocolate. And sample the almond milk. I got a vanilla and an unflavored one. The verdict is that it’s delicious.

So I might update later tonight but if not rest assured I’m watching Doctor Who and cleaning up a bit 🙂

Nanogreens snack and mean green for dinner!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Misha
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 15:52:45

    Good job girl!!! No more wheatgrass for you, though….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

