Juicy Details- OMG Day Five

I haven’t been hungry today. At all. So much so that I’ve actually only managed one juice (mainly carrot, kale and beets), one kombucha and a concoction of lemon, water, chia and Nanogreens. All of these have been really tasty but the fact is: I’m not hungry.

What I am experiencing, though, is intense desire to taste and chew things. Savory things. Oddly, I really really really want a Gardenburger. I don’t even want it hot, I just want to chew it. I’m really hoping this will pass once I move out of the fasting phase.

Monday is my last full day of the fast, Tuesday morning I intend to have myself a fruit salad, some nuts, and take a trip to the Whole Foods cafe near my work building and get some of the delightful noshes in their chef case. The majority of those offerings are raw foods, so I should be able to scrounge up a nice lunch before heading out for sashimi with friends that night. I’m really looking forward to savory food.

Hummus, for instance, sounds amazing. I found a raw recipes for it and I will actually begin prep for it tomorrow when I make a trip to the grocery! Raw Hummus is among us!

Today has actually been the hardest to keep from eating things other than juice even though I’m not hungry. I just find myself thinking about burgers and such. I know these cravings will stop and they need to but I find myself questioning the whole raw decision. It’s only a month, I have NO intention of remaining raw. My goal here is to reset myself, to refocus my cravings to things that are actually good for me and embrace a life of eating clean, wholesome foods for me.

Is it really so bad to cook things? Eh, I’m inclined to say no. Cooking food is ok, it damaged nutrient content sure but there are simply some foods that are safer to eat cooked. Grains and beans come to mind mostly. Now, a paleo approach says grains aren’t that great for us and I agree, but beans? Beans are dynamite. The raw solution is to soak and sprout them but for my purposes I’ll either leave that to the pros or I’ll forgo them until the end of the raw bits.

So why am I doing this? Because if I tell myself just eat clean now, I’ll bake a lot of bread, use a lot of honey, eat a lot of grass fed beef and roast me some chicken…see what’s missing in there? Veggies.

Even if I cut out the four white devils, I’d end up avoiding the things that I’ve been lacking for so long, and even if I wasn’t, I’d not let them be a big enough part of my diet.

I need to make a plant based diet my habit.

It’s hard because a little voice in my head says: oh just eat clean now and juice and just do it now.

But I know myself, I’d be back in a drive through before you know it.

Burger. I really want a burger.

Little sad that I don’t have one right now. By little sad I mean OH THERE’S MY HUNGER

two more days.

edit: slight cheat…mustard. i took a handful of spinach and tossed it with a little stone ground mustard. problem solved. it’s not juice, but it kept me from driving to Wendy’s. net win? yeah.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. juicingaway
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 19:27:08

    It is really hard, I have the exact same cravings as you. I think it takes baby steps…
    Just introducing more veggies in your life, after the fast, will have great health benefits. Not every one can just all of a sudden become a vegan.

    I think it’s all about living life in moderation. 🙂

    Reply

    • Ali
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 20:15:14

      agreed, just shifting the balance from microwaved dinners to real foods will be better but if I can retain a desire for veggies and salad and all that I will call it a real win.

      Reply

      • juicingaway
        Jan 05, 2013 @ 20:16:09

        Yes, that is my goal as well. I just never liked vegetables, they are okayyy but I’m never the person who orders a salad at dinner.

        I genuinely want to become that person!

      • Ali
        Jan 05, 2013 @ 20:18:45

        me too! I’m awful about eating salad! I’d nosh on carrots and cucumbers sure but just about everything else was either a secondary players like a topping on pizza or well…mostly that. Salads were never my choice. So I want to be a person who takes a veggie option!

  2. charlidholbrook
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 00:34:28

    stay strong! I may try during my fast.
    xChai

    Reply

  3. misha
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 00:42:23

    I totally understand. Ugh, stay strong!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

