Juicy Details- Day Three

Today has been a day of temptation. It has also been a day of reaffirmation.

Good morning Beautiful: Guava, carrots, pineapple, kale, kiwi, pear, clementines, blueberries, strawberries, golden beets

Good morning Beautiful: Guava, carrots, pineapple, kale, kiwi, pear, clementines, blueberries, strawberries, golden beets

This morning I brewed up a little Good Morning Beautiful and set out to work! I think I like starting my day on fruit more. Pear, guava and apples produce a nice thick juice that’s almost smoothie like.

I was hardly hungry most of the day except for the smell of biscuits, and later fried chicken. The big test was the peanut marshmallow concoction left in the breakroom for the taking. Of course as I got tea they let me know just how wonderful yummy it was and for a split second I wanted to just grab the bowl and eat it all. Then I looked at it closely and realized it was just sugar and low grade nuts. I will make a better one after this week is up.

I’m more and more excited about getting to my raw recipes! And even more excited about raw grocery shopping. Why? AH! I have some really awesome friends.

Remember I told you about Misha and Tim going clean? She’s going to blog about it! I’ll link y’all when she’s all set up. It’ll be really interesting to see how things change for her, how she feels and how her blood sugar reacts from eating clean.

And of course how awesome was this! Today she texts me about getting groceries delivered from Greenling.com  and then what do you know? My friend Ryan runs over maybe 3 minutes later with a $50 groupon to Greenling as a birthday present! It’s like it was meant to be.

Which, guys that website is pretty crazy awesome. I’m very very excited to order me some raw cheddar! I really really miss cheese.

I miss fats. I have to tell you, I’ve never been one of those ‘low fat’ people, but I’ve also never been a butter fiend. I’ve always just kind of walked a moderate line with that. I don’t eat a lot of nuts, but I eat a great amount of cheese. I would drink skim milk but snacks labeled ‘reduced fat’ never appealed to me.

But right now I want nuts. I want nuts really badly. Yesterday’s avocado was delicious and it did the trick so tonight I’ll be adding it to my mean green for sure.  I think this is a good thing. I’m missing the taste and texture of cheese but for the first time in ever I’m craving nuts. Cashews sound wondrous, and I’ve never liked them before.

Rox Chox

Look at that chocolaty beauty

I had one other temptation today and it came in the mail: my Rox Chox box came in. Now my friend and former co-worker Sara put me onto them (it helps that they’re family!) and I’m now committed to spreading the word about them. Rox Chox is raw, nut free, dairy free, soy free, gluten free, sugar free, diabetic friendly and more! How do they do it? Simple! Raw chocolate, coconut and birch form the base. Now i’ve had Rox Chox before and loved it, so when I committed myself to going raw I knew I was going to need a stock to keep me from slipping. We all know girls LOVE their chocolate and I am no exception. Now I must tell you, the texture is not what we’ve become accustomed to eating Hersey. It’s…crunchy. Now it melts in your mouth and it’s wonderful but there are coconut flakes and a little salt and the birch itself which all becomes a unique texture. It’s worth a try, really, and soon they’ll be coming out with two new flavors to order online: Ginger and Dibs on Nibs (which I believe will be coconut and salt free).

I believe today to be the shifting point. From here out my energy should be higher, my cravings should ease, and I’ve hit the wall for just how hungry I can get. Today I actually had a lot more energy and pep than Wednesday so I’m feeling good about it. Luckily tomorrow is Friday so I’ll have two days at home to be free of temptation. I plan on making a run to whole foods and treating myself to some wheatgrass and a juice without the cleanup! That is honestly my biggest trouble with this juice fast– the cleaning.

As far as the price of it, I’ve spent less money on food this week that I have in a very very long time and my juices have been BIG. A liter at a time and I’ve still got about half of the fruit and veggies I purchased at the start. Awesome, isn’t it?

Now I have to confess, since I said I’d be honest and y’all can tell me if this is cheating or not:

So I got Rox Chox in the mail and they, sweetly, included a square. Now, not to make excuses but I am about to begin PMSing and…the scent. That rich chocolate scent!

I had half a square. I just popped it in my mouth and let it melt. Cacoa juice, that’s a juice right? RIGHT?

Ok so I feel a little guilty but I’ve told myself the rest is for after the fast. To prove it, I’m going to take the remaining half of the square and spread the word at work. I’ve already made Mindy drink several of my juices hahaha so she’s a prime target!

suave

And now if you’ll excuse me, I have a chia lemonade waiting for me!

Did you get your Rox Chox yet? No? WHY ARE YOU STILL HERE? Go! Go! Go!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. misha
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 14:15:25

    Great job, Ali!
    I agree, if it melts, um, it counts as juice <.< But probably want to try to not do that TOO often.

    I'm glad you're finding this cheaper, as well!
    I'm so excited for our food to get here tomorrow (from Greenling). CANT WAIIIITTTTTTTT.

    Reply

    • Ali
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 14:58:04

      aww thanks Mishi!!
      Yeah… melts
      >.>
      girl logic
      <.<

      Neither can Iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii! I scheduled my delivery for next Wednesday as to avoid the temptation of eating the raw cheese I ordered. Cheddar! HOW I LOVE YOU!

      Reply

  2. gogreenstaylean
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 14:25:00

    I wouldn’t worry too much about it, since it is so natural! And it technically isn’t a solid! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

