Preparing for the madness

So I’m really getting excited about this challenge I’ve put to myself. So much so that I’ve even been having dreams about it. Good dreams.

I’ve also been informed that my bestie Misha and her husband Tim will be following along with me with a clean diet (something I hope to work up to). Why are they starting off clean? Misha is a diabetic and has been advised to not go raw. Wish them luck too! 😀

This past week has been incredibly full of celebrations! Christmas, my birthday, my friend Lynn’s bachelorette party AND wedding and of course New Years. Strangely, I’ve not really wanted to eat anything in my old diet. I tried having a lean cuisine, couldn’t finish it. I tried making eggs and literally hated how they tasted (i normally love eggs), same with breakfast tacos (a Texan staple).  I enjoyed some Indian food of course, and a steak and some Chinese (on Christmas, because that’s how my family rolls) but not as much as I would have enjoyed it a month ago.

But for my birthday I had sushi and home made cupcakes and a LOT of booze. Seriously, a lot of booze, but not as much as I would have previously have imbibed. I don’t know why, maybe it’s just my subconscious preparing me for what is ahead or perhaps it is that I’ve already started adding in juice whenever I visit my whole foods (which up until today have included a cookie from their bakery too)

Speaking of Whole Foods, I’ve started my shopping for the fast and have been cleaning out my fridge and kitchen. See my progress!!

A new use for my stoveThe toolsThe fridge!

and of course, just in case I feel the need to stray from my commitment, I have a condescending Wonka ready to pounce

Wonka has my back

Speaking of progress, it is time that I bare my soul and all my secrets right now. It’s time for measurements!

lil old me

Hi guys– Notice the tummy? Yeah I know it looks like I’m pregnant. I’m not.

Weight: 150.4 lbs

Inches/Cm:

Upper Arm: 12in/30.5cm

Forearm: 8.5in/21.5cm

Bust: 38in/96.5cm

Chest: 32in/81cm

Thigh: 24in/61cm

Calf: 14in/35.5

Hips: 39in/99cm

Waist:  30.3/77cm

Belly: 38in/96.5cm

Body fat: 26.87

and the most important one:

Blood pressure

Blood pressure

Ideal is 120/80. The above is high, stage one.

And now the rules of my foray into the raw universe:

For the fast:

1) I will be drinking at least one, likely two green juices a day.

2) Nanogreen will be my go-to sipping drink. When possible and depending on taste I’ll be adding it to my fresh juices.

Nano Goodness

3) I will not care about calories. This may sound dumb but it needs to be said for my own sake. If my juice is 800 calories then GOOD yummy! TASTY. This is about medicine, not about weight loss.

4) I will drink my kombucha. Daily.

5) I will indulge in hot tea by Yogi withOUT sweetener.

For the non-fasting fun raw times:

1) I will not be eating anything that has been cooked or traditionally pasteurized. It must be labeled as raw for me to eat it.

2) I’m not going to care about money.  This sounds dumb too, but I’m little miss penny pincher and believe me, throwing away perishable processed foods as really difficult for me. I had to tell myself every time I threw something out: I deserve better. I deserve better. I am worth it.

3) I will allow myself hot herbal tea and sun-brewed cold tea. In part because it’s winter and in part because while they’re not the ideal way to get those herbs and benefits they will be my only heated item.

4) I will allow myself tar tar and sashimi and raw milk and cheese if I can procure it but very sparingly.

5) I will continue my juicing to complement my raw fun!

Now to say farewell to some of my favorite foods, some just for now, others forever. See if you can spot the stuff that I’ll hopefully never eat again:

Bubble teaLiquid crackgoat cheese addiction761 611 926 927 928 963 988 004 019 022 271 291 753 872IMG_1664 IMG_1273 IMG_1187 IMG00192-20100507-1918 13354_180521627400_732137400_3406723_3399374_n

I will see y’all tomorrow with my first day of juice fasting!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

