What is this all about?

It all started with a weigh in.

Actually, that’s a lie. I’ve always been concerned about my weight and concerned with my health and with good reason.

As a kid I went through what we could generously describe as an extended awkward phase complete with acne, expanded waist line and a bust far too big far too soon. I’m still in that awkward phase sometimes.

I have never, ever, been comfortable with my body. Nor has my body been comfortable with me. For years I’ve struggled with CFS/Fibromyalgia and pretty silently. In fact, this will come as news to some of my family that reads this. I’ve also struggled with high blood pressure, stress and anxiety that has been, to say the least, unpleasant.  Oh yeah, and a sun allergy. Yes, I am allergic to UV light. Yes that is a real thing and no while I don’t have to wear one of those space suits to protect myself I do get a pretty nasty hive breakout and painful burn rash if I’m out in the sun for any long period of time.Why the silence? That’s just me. I don’t like to worry people, I don’t like to get advice, and I really don’t like people being ginger with me.

I also don’t like the ‘cure’ of little white pills. While searching for my diagnosis (in the days before Fibro pain killer commercials were spammed across every tv channel) I was put on a myriad of antidepressants, anti-anxiety, antipsychotics, narcotics, etc all with varying results. All of which didn’t make me feel any better. In fact one delightful pill had me breaking furniture.

After years of failed diagnosis and half my blood being drained for still more tests I found a doctor that told me what I had and then told me that I should take powerful pills that would make it difficult for me to function, to drive, to concentrate.

No thank you.

But three years after quitting it all, my life is still pretty painful.

I do yoga, I’m getting regular massage now, but all in all–I’m not healthy.

So this journal here will chronicle my adventures in health.

So back to this weigh in I mentioned:

I work full time as a data analyst for a wonderful local Austin company. Recently our HR department decided to issue us all a weight loss challenge and the prize is some yet to be disclosed mystery Trip. So for the heck of it I decided I’d weigh in and try my hand at losing the 20lbs I’d gained since moving to Austin that wasn’t budging.

But when I stepped onto the scale I wasn’t prepared for:

158.8lbs

For perspective, I’m 5’6″ and a size 8…though lately that has been a very very snug size 8.

I haven’t been that close to 160 since my last plump awkward phase, when I topped out at 175.

Shock!

But I’ve been on a ‘diet’ for the past year, eating only 1200 calories a day on most days, working out and trying to only splurge when I go out. I should be a rail! But instead I’m quite squishy and quite plump and in PAIN! Every day!

Why? 90% of my meals are microwaved diet meals! the other 10% is booze, restaurant food, or packaged ‘healthy’ snacks.

Not a lot of veggies, or fruit, or real meat. In short–not a lot of nutrients. No wonder I’m miserable. I’m fat and starving.

Ok. I. Have. Goals.

Here they are:

-Pain, I want you gone!

-Skin! I want you glowing

-Body fat, you need to be down below the 25% you are now. Ideally around 19%, and along with that will come slimmer size and hopefully lower weight.

-Blood Pressure, down to normal levels.

-I want to be alive, to have energy, to be happy and healthy.

So how am I going to do this?

It’s time for a reboot. The first week will be a juice and herbal tea cleansing and I’m not talking ocean spray, I’m talking fresh liquified greens and a lot of water. Wheat grass genocide.

The next four weeks will be all raw all the time.

After that? Good question. I don’t know, I really don’t. Will I ever eat another Lean Cuisine? It’s possible. Does this mean I’m going vegan? Definitely not. (I’m all for their ethical basis but It’s not for me) but will I be adopting a plant based lifestyle? I do believe so.

I plan on photographing all of my meals and/or capturing my loseit.com diary and updating daily (ambition! i has it) to keep me honest and motivated.

The first fasting post will be Jan 1st. Until then I’ve got some damage to do with my birthday (the 29th), a friend’s wedding (30th) and New Year’s of course!

That first post will also be a retrospective, illustrating some of my old habits and sending them out in contemptuous style

Wish me luck!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. phlezk
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 22:24:42

    Nice. I’ve considered doing another juice fast, followed by raw food diet, Nicole wants to do one also. I just might join you!

    Reply

  2. 365tomorrows
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 22:29:58

    Good luck, though you don’t need luck, just put that good old Texas determined spirit you’ve applied to everything else to work and you’ll hit your goals for sure!

    Reply

  3. Rushy
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 01:48:50

    Good Luck! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

